Skip to main content

Southwest Federal Regional Council Records

Identifier: AR0316

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

This collection contains publications, brochures, conference materials, general correspondence and memorandums, program overviews and initiatives, reports from the Evaluation of the Public Service Careers Program, Public Employment Program, Building Rural Texas, Productive Employment of the Disadvantaged, the Minority Women Employment Program, Us Department of Labor, State Employment Security Agency, US Department of Transportation, Southwest Border Regional Commission on Federal Border Activities, Department of Labor, Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Department of Agriculture, Rural Public Transportation, Employment Initiatives Program Seminar, Atoka County Needs Assessment, American for Indian Opportunities, McGee Creek Project and the Red River Project.


  • Creation: 1964-1984
  • Acquisition: Date acquired: 00/00/1987

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is not restricted.

Conditions Governing Use

Reproduction and publication of materials in this collection are subject to the policies of the UNT Special Collections department. Copyright restrictions may apply.

Biographical or Historical Information

In 1972, President Richard Nixon (1969-1974) established Federal Regional Councils for ten different regions of the United States. The purpose of the Councils was to foster interagency communications and to strengthen relations between federal, state, and local governments. The ultimate goal was to ensure federal laws and plans were implemented under the concept of “New Federalism,” a philosophical ideal that transferred power back to local governing bodies. Each Council consisted of an assigned delegate from the Department of Labor, Health, and Education, the Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Department of Transportation, the Office of Economic Opportunity, the Environmental Protection Agency, and the Law Enforcement Assistance Administration. The Federal Regional Councils Program was amended and expanded under Presidents Gerald Ford (1974-1977) and Jimmy Carter (1977-1981). Each Council was different based on its region’s needs. Region VI, or the Southwest Region, consisted of Arkansas, Louisiana, Texas, Oklahoma, and New Mexico. The Southwest Federal Regional Council, which began operation in the mid-1970s, was based in Dallas, Texas. The Southwest Council focused on general federal initiatives such as welfare reform projects and rural development, and its regional-specific programs included the Red Riverway Project in Louisiana, the McGee Creek Reservoir Project in Oklahoma, and the Greater South Texas Cultural Basin Commission. In 1983, President Ronald Reagan (1981-1989) issued Executive Order 12407 which officially disbanded all ten Federal Councils. Officials stated that they were cancelled because they had fulfilled their purpose, but many argued the Federal Councils trumped state and local governments. Despite the criticisms, many of the projects implemented under the Southwest Federal Regional Council had lasting benefits for the region that are still visible and accessible today.

Note written by Chelsea Stallings


11.00 boxes

Language of Materials



This collection contains records from Southwest Federal Regional Council which was established by President Richard Nixon in 1972. The Council's purpose was to create interagency communications and strengthen relations between federal, state, and local governments. The Southwest Federal Regional Council Collection includes documents detailing the dozens of urban programs that were initiated across the southwest region. Correspondences between federal, state, and local officials in the collection shine a light on the communication between the different levels of government in the implementation of urban policies with the goal of making the future better for generations to come.

Arrangement Note

The records are arranged first chronologically, then alphabetically with the exception of the last five folders in box 10, which are Restricted; and box 11, which were removed from the original order due to legal size documents, but are still in chronological and then alphabetical order.

Physical Access Requirements

This collection is stored off-site and requires a minimum of 24 hours notice prior to use.

Source of Acquisition

John Thompson

Method of Acquisition


Accruals and Additions


Southwest Federal Regional Council Records
Jaime Janda and Chelsea Stallings
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the University of North Texas Special Collections Repository

University of North Texas, Willis Library
1155 Union Circle # 305190
Denton TX 76203 US