Skip to main content

Deborah Crombie Papers

Identifier: AR0761

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

The Deborah Crombie Papers is composed of manuscripts of the author’s novels, which include handwritten notes and corrections, and personal papers. The personal papers series includes reviews, research for novels in progress, and correspondence.


  • Creation: 1990-2013
  • Creation: Majority of material found in 1993-2007
  • Acquisition: Date acquired: 09/13/2013


Conditions Governing Access

This collection is not restricted.

Conditions Governing Use

Reproduction and publication of materials in this collection are subject to the policies of the UNT Special Collections department. Copyright restrictions apply.

Biographical or Historical Information

Deborah Crombie, born in Dallas, is the award winning author of the Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James British crime series. She was raised in the North Texas suburb of Richardson. After attending college at the Austin College in Sherman, Texas, where she received her bachelor’s in biology, Crombie began working in the newspaper advertising field. It was also during this time, as a post-graduate, that she took her first trip to the United Kingdom which solidified her love for the country. Upon returning to North Texas, after living in the UK and Scotland for some time, Crombie began to settle down working in her family’s business while focusing on her family, as well as beginning to write her first mystery novel. In 1993, the novel– A Share in Death – was published. Since1993 Crombie has written 15 British crime novels. These stories share Crombie’s love for the UK, a passion which fuses with the author’s keen writing style, taking the audience into the world of Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James. Crombie’s novels, all of which are printed in several languages, include the aforementioned A Share in Death as well as the following titles listed by publication date: A Share in Death, 1993 All Shall be Well, 1994 Leave the Grave Green, 1995 Mourn Not Your Dead, 1996 Dreaming of the Bones, 1997 Kissed a Sad Goodbye, 1999 A Finer End, 2001 And Justice There is None, 2002 Now May You Weep, 2003 In a Dark House, 2005 Water Like a Stone, 2007 Where Memories Lie, 2008 Necessary as Blood, 2009 No Mark upon Her, 2012 The Sound of Broken Glass, 2013 The UNT Libraries Special Collections is honored to house the manuscripts and papers of Deborah Crombie.

Note written by


7.00 boxes

Language of Materials



The personal papers and manuscripts of author Deborah Crombie.

Arrangement Note

The personal papers are arranged by material type, while the manuscripts are arranged alphabetically.

Physical Access Requirements

This collection is stored off-site and requires a minimum of 24 hour notice prior to use.

Source of Acquisition

Deborah Crombie

Method of Acquisition


Deborah Crombie Papers
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the University of North Texas Special Collections Repository

University of North Texas, Willis Library
1155 Union Circle # 305190
Denton TX 76203 US